New Sewerage & Water Board members all confirmed

Mayor Mitch Landrieu’s eight appointments to the newly restructured Sewerage & Water Board won approval from the City Council on Thursday, ending a vetting process that began more than six months ago.

Just one of the mayor’s picks, Kerri Kane, appeared before the council on Thursday. Because of scheduling conflicts, Kane was the only one of the eight who had not been previously cleared by the council’s Governmental Affairs Committee. None of the appointees attracted criticism.

The newly formed board conforms to legislative and voter-approved changes enacted last year that call for the board to have 11 members instead of 13, limited members’ terms to four years instead of nine and for the first time required that most members have professional qualifications. City Council members no longer sit on the board.

Landrieu’s appointees are Kane, a local lawyer; Scott Jacobs, a mechanical engineer and insurance executive; Robin Barnes, the chief operating officer for Greater New Orleans Inc.; Marion Bracy, the vice president for facility planning and management at Xavier University; Mark Moody, a NASA engineer; Tamika Duplessis, a chemistry instructor at Delgado Community College; Kimberly Thomas, a project manager with the construction company Jacobs/CSRS; and Joseph Peychaud, president of St. Katharine Drexel Preparatory School (formerly Xavier University Preparatory).

Kane, Bracy and Moody already serve on the board. The panel also will include Landrieu and two additional members from the city’s Board of Liquidation, City Debt: architect Ray Manning and investment adviser Alan Arnold.

Read the full article here: